RTNDA announces 2006 Murrow winners

Hurricane Katrina coverage was singled out for recognition with the 2006 Edward R. Murrow Awards to be presented to several local stations in the Gulf area, including WWL-TV and WLOX-TV. Networks too were honored for their coverage of the storm and its aftermath.

The Radio-Television News Directors Association (RTNDA) announced the winners of the awards June 21. In the television network category, NBC News won six awards, including one for overall excellence. Other television network winners included CNN and ESPN with two awards each. ABC News, Univision and CTV each won one.

In all, 55 news organizations won 80 awards out of an initial pool of 3723 entries from 568 news organizations. The awards will be presented at the RTNDA awards dinner on Oct,16, 2006, in New York City.

For a complete list of winners, visit www.rtnda.org/asfi/awards/murrowshow2006.shtml.