ATSC honors Allison with Outstanding Contributor Award

The ATSC honored Arthur Allison III last week as this year’s recipient of the Bernard Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award. The presentation was made May 10 in Chantilly, VA, during the ATSC annual meeting.

Allison served as the chair of the Implementation Subcommittee from 1997 to 2004. Under his leadership the subcommittee helped the industry address the real world of DTV implementation issues, including PSIP and captioning, lip sync and the postage stamp effect. The groupsl work led to important standards development work in ATSC, CEA and SMPTE.

Allison participates in nearly all of the technical work of ATSC. He has been involved in the specialist groups of the Technology and Standards Group (TSG). He is currently chair of TSG/S1 (PSIP Metadata Communication) and is also deeply involved in the work of many other specialist groups.

Allison is the director of advanced engineering in the NAB science and technology department.

For more information visit

Back to the top