Skip to main content

TV Technology Announces STAR & Mario Award Recipients for NAB2006

Falls Church, VA - TV Technology has announced the winners for the coveted STAR and Mario Awards presented at NAB2006.

Now in its seventh year, the STAR Awards (for Superior Technology Award Recipient) are designed to celebrate and showcase the preeminent technological innovations available to the broadcast industry. A panel of judges consisting of TV Technology editors and columnists reviewed a variety of products, examined the technical applications and their overall contribution to the industry, and then submitted their award nominees.

"Our panel of editors walked the show floor in search of innovative and ground-breaking new products," said Tom Butts, TV Technology Editor. "The products and technology we selected made the cut -- they demonstrated their ability to help advance the acquisition and dissemination of audio and video in the professional video marketplace."

Organized in 1993, the Mario Awards were established to recognize manufacturers whose products represent significant technical breakthroughs -- many of these products have gone on to significantly impact the future of video technology. The awards are named after Mario Orazio, a pseudonym for a nameless engineer and a renowned technology columnist for TV Technology who pens the industry's most widely read column "The Masked Engineer." The awards are given out annually at the NAB convention to companies that demonstrate forward thinking and technical excellence in their products.

Recipients of the STAR Awards are:

Adtec -- Edje 4111 HD Server
Anton Bauer -- ELIPZ
Autoscript -- Voice-Plus Voice Recognition Prompting Software
Avid -- Interplay
Calrec -- Bluefin
Canon -- XL H1 HD Camcorder
Chyron -- Lyric Pro Graphics Software with Interfuse
Cobalt Digital -- HD-8090 12-Bit Multi-Standard Converter
Doremi -- LiveEditPro Commercial Inserter/Profanity Cleanser
Fast Forward Video -- NDT 200
Focus Enhancements -- FireStore FS-100
For-A -- FA-9000 HD Super Signal Processor
Grass Valley -- Infinity Series
Grass Valley/Canopus -- EDIUS Pro 4 NLE Software
Grass Valley/TBM -- Sapphire Frame Accurate Transport Stream Server
Holophone -- H3-D 5.1 Surround Microphone
Iconix -- HD-RH1 POV HD Camera
Innovision Optics -- HD Mini Probe Lens
InPhase Technologies/Maxell -- Holographic Storage Technology
JVC -- DLA-HRM1U 48-inch Reference Monitor
Linear Acoustic -- LA-5448, AC-3 Multi-Input Synchronizer & Rate Shaper
Microwave Radio Communications -- IP Over ENG with HD
Network Electronics -- Sublime Router
Nucomm -- CamPac2 Nvision -- NV8288 Router
Omneon -- MediaGrid
OmniBus Systems -- iTX
Panasonic -- AJ-HPC2000 P2 HD camcorder
PESA Systems -- DRS Distributed Routing System
Pixel Instruments -- Liptracker Lip Sync Analyser
Prime Image/Editware -- Time Tailor Post HD/SD
RF Central -- RFX-MDR-PC
Ross Video/Cobalt Digital/Ward-Beck -- openGear
Snell & Wilcox -- Helios
Sony -- HVR-M25U HDV/DVCAM Recorder-Player
Techni-Lux -- Palco 3 Ultra-High Power White LED Fixture
Telestream -- GraphicsFactory
Troll -- Waterproof Camera Enclosure
USDTV -- USB 1.1 AVC Dongle
Wohler -- Touch-It Monitor

Recipients of the Mario Awards are:

American Paper Optics -- ChromaDepth 3D
Astro Systems/Astrodesign -- VP-8400 (Ultra High-Definition TV Image Processor)
frontNICHE -- LCD Displays
Multi-Speed Engineering -- Dual-Standard Digital Betacam modification
Portaprompt -- Nano-Prompt
Redrock -- Micro 35mm Lens Adapter
ricsonix -- Blue Digital Wireless Mic System
Rushworks -- Newsrush
Silicon Imaging -- SI-1920 HDVR Camcorder
Toshiba -- On-Air Max Flash Memory Video Server

TV Technology is the industry's leading magazine for technology news and reviews. The magazine is published by IMAS Publishing, the world's largest publisher of audio and video publications.