The Champion of Public Broadcasting Award Goes To John Marshall III

Former president and CEO of The Kresge Foundation, John E. Marshall III is the 2007 recipient of the Champion of Public Broadcasting Award, from the Association of Public Television Stations and the Public Broadcasting Service. The award will be presented to Marshall on Monday, Feb. 12 at 4 p.m. as part of the APTS
Capitol Hill Day coinciding with the PBS General Managers planning meeting/Annual Members meeting.

Each year during Capitol Hill Day, APTS presents several awards to those local stations and outstanding individual advocates for public television and public broadcasting that step beyond the call in legislative and community advocacy.

Under Marshall's leadership, The Kresge Foundation in Troy, Mich., awarded millions of dollars to local public television stations through challenge grants to support stations' efforts to meet the federally mandated conversion to digital technology, according to APTS. Marshall retired from The Kresge Foundation in June 2006. The Kresge Foundation, established in 1924 by Kmart founder Sebastian S. Kresge, is a national foundation with assets of more than $2.8 billion.

Prior to joining Kresge in 1979, Marshall served as executive director of the Rhode Island Foundation, associate director of development at Brown University, and advertising manager for U.N. Alloy Steel Corp. in Boston. He has served on numerous boards including United Way Community Services, Greater Downtown Partnership, Detroit Symphony Orchestra, Detroit 300 Conservancy Endowment, and City Year Detroit. He is an alumnus of Brown University.