Public Broadcasters Receive Digital Grants

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting has awarded nearly $14 million to 33 public TV stations to allow the stations to purchased DTV equipment, with the ultimate goal of providing digital datacast services ranging from public affairs multicasts to education services and emergency services.

Congress has appropriated CPB nearly $150 million in special funding to pay for public radio and TV broadcasters to transition to digital. With this announcement, CPB has awarded 285 digital grants to public radio stations and 229 grants to public TV stations.

CPB is accepting applications for the seventh round of digital transition funding beginning in mid-November and running through Dec. 20.

Grant recipients include:

* California: KCET-TV (Los Angeles)
* District of Columbia: WHUT-TV
* Florida: WFSU-TV (Tallahassee)
* Illinois: WSEC-TV (Jacksonville-Springfield)
* Indiana: WYIN-TV (Gary-Merrillville)
* Kansas: KTWU-TV (Topeka)
* Kentucky: WKYU-TV (Bowling Green)
* Michigan: WCMU-TV (Mt. Pleasant)
* Mississippi: WMPN-TV (Jackson)
* Montana: KUFM-TV (Missoula)
* North Dakota: KFME-TV (Fargo), KGFE-TV (Grand Forks)
* New York: WNED-TV (Buffalo), WPBS-TV (Watertown), WSKG-TV (Binghamton)
* Ohio: WBGU-TV (Bowling Green-Lima), WOUB-TV (Athens), WPTD-TV (Dayton)
* South Carolina: WRLK-TV (Columbia)
* Tennessee: WLJT-TV (Lexington-Martin)
* Texas: KACV-TV (Amarillo), KCOS-TV (El Paso), KEDT-TV (Corpus Christi), KERA-TV (Dallas), KLRN-TV (San Antonio), KLRU-TV (Austin), KMBH-TV (Harlingen), KNCT-TV (Killeen-Belton), KUHT-TV (Houston)
* Washington: KBTC-TV (Tacoma), KTNW-TV (Richland)
* Wisconsin: WMVS-TV (Milwaukee)
* West Virginia: WSWP-TV (Grandview-Beckley)