New Microtune Tuner Works Worldwide

Microtune introduced a new silicon tuner, the MT2063, which it claims is unique in meeting the requirements for multiple TV reception standards—analog/digital and off-air/cable—across worldwide markets. The MT2063 is capable of receiving frequencies in the 48 to 1002 MHz range and converts a selected channel to standard intermediate frequencies (IF) between 30 and 60 MHz.

The tuner uses dual conversion and eliminates the need for external tracking filters with an integrated preselection filter on the RF input, low in-band emissions and “outstanding image rejection.” In addition to the RF pre-filter, it includes a first IF filter. An integrated LNA contributes to a quoted terrestrial TV noise figure of 5 dB.

Microtune said the tuner is “fully compatible with ATSC, DVB-T, DMB-T, ISDB-T, QAM/DVB-C, NTSC, PAL, SECAM and other terrestrial TV standards.”

Refer to the MT2063 Product Sheet for additional information. The tuner is priced at $3.50 per unit in high volume. Evaluation boards and reference designs are available.

Doug Lung

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. As vice president of Broadcast Technology for NBCUniversal Local, H. Douglas Lung leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks, and FCC technical filings. Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering. Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack.
A longtime columnist for TV Technology, Doug is also a regular contributor to IEEE Broadcast Technology. He is the recipient of the 2023 NAB Television Engineering Award. He also received a Tech Leadership Award from TV Tech publisher Future plc in 2021 and is a member of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society and the Society of Broadcast Engineers.