Genachowski announces senior staff appointments

FCC chairman Julius Genachowski last week announced senior staff in three bureaus, including Media, Enforcement and Wireline Competition.

Heading the Media Bureau as chief is William Lake, who recently served as head of the commission’s DTV task force. The new Wireline Competition Bureau Chief will be Sharon Gillett, who most recently served as director of the Massachusetts Broadband Institute.

The new Media Bureau deputy chiefs are Robert Ratcliffe, who most recently held the position of acting Media Bureau chief, and Kris Monteith, a 12-year veteran at the FCC. The chairman also announced Suzanne Tetreault as Enforcement Bureau deputy chief. Tetreault currently serves as acting deputy chief of the FCC’s Consumer & Government Affairs Bureau.

Lake and Ratcliffe assume their new roles immediately. The appointments of Tetrealut and Monteith become effective Aug. 10. Gillet assumes her position Aug. 28.