FCC Grants SHVERA DTV Testing Waivers

The FCC granted waivers from the DTV signal testing requirements in the Satellite Home Viewer Extension and Reauthorization Act of 2004 (SHVERA) to 10 stations: KABC-DT, WNKY-DT, WBOY-DT, KCBY-DT, KVAL-DT, KHAS-DT, KNOP-DT, WTVG-DT, WTRF-DT and KAUZ-DT.

Without the waiver, satellite subscribers could use off-air signal strength testing to qualify to receive distant digital TV network broadcast signals by satellite. SHVERA allows the waivers if stations can meet certain requirements and demonstrate that their DTV coverage is impaired due to, among other things, use of a side-mount antenna or force majeure, such as the Sept. 11, 2001, attack on the World Trade Center.

For the FCC's analysis of the station's waiver requests and rationale for granting the waivers, see Order DA 08-111 released Jan. 16, 2008.