Skip to main content

CPJ honors four journalists with International Press Freedom Award

The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) honored four journalists from Russia, Pakistan, China and Mexico with the 2007 International Press Freedom Award Nov. 20 during a black-tie dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

The recipients of the awards each have put their lives or liberty on the line to report stories of global significance, according to the CPJ.

They include:

  • Dmitry Muratov, editor-in-chief of “Novaya Gazeta,” Russia, an independent newspaper with national influence;
  • Mazhar Abbas, TV journalist, deputy director of ARY One World Television, Pakistan, an Urdu and Hindi-language channel;
  • Adela Mavarro Bello, general director of news magazine Zeta, in Mexico
  • Gao Qinrong, a reporter for China’s official Xinhua News Agency, who spent eight years in a Chinese jail in retribution for an investigative story on a corrupt irrigation project.

For more information, visit