ATSC honors Mark Eyer as 2007 Bernard Lechner Award recipient

Mark Eyer has been named this year’s recipient of the Bernard Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award. The presentation was made in Arlington, VA, at the Pentagon City Ritz-Carlton during the ATSC Annual Meeting held Thursday, May 17. Eyer is a director of the Technology Standards Office for Sony Electronics.

According to Mark Richer, ATSC president, Eyer was a key contributor to the development to the PSIP Standard. McGraw-Hill published Eyer’s textbook on the subject in 2002.

Eyer has served as the chair of the Specialist Group on Transport (TSG/S8 & T3/S8) since April 2002. Under his leadership, S8 has maintained and revised the PSIP Standard, developed the Content Identification and Labeling for ATSC Transport Standard (A/57A) and the Conditional Access System for Terrestrial Broadcast Standard (A/70A). In the past year, he led S8’s development of the ATSC Parameterized Services Standard (A/71).

Mark also served as chair of the Specialist Group on Video Coding (T3/S6) from August 2001 to April 2002. Under his guidance, S6 developed the specification for Bar Data, currently part of A/53 Part 4.

The Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE) also recently announced that Eyer was the recipient of the SCTE Excellence in Standards Award for 2007. As an active participant in the ATSC, CEA and SCTE standards committees, he has helped coordinate technical activities among the organizations.