Skip to main content

The Advanced Television Systems Committee has released the agenda for its 2005 Annual Meeting. The meeting will be held May 10 at the Hilton Crystal City in Arlington, Va. Anyone wishing to attend must RSVP by April 30, 2005.

The meeting starts with state of the industry addresses for broadcasting, cable and consumer electronics presented by Eddie Fritts (President and CEO of NAB), Kyle McSlarrow (President and CEO, NCTA) and Gary Shapiro (President and CEO, CEA), respectively.

Robert Rast, Chairman of ATSC and Mark Richer, President of ATSC, will present the Bernard Lechner Outstanding Contributor Award. Jerry Whitaker will speak on ATSC - Delivering New Standards.

The panel "Perspectives on the Future of Terrestrial Broadcasting" should be interesting. It will be moderated by Wayne Luplow and includes Nat Ostroff from Sinclair Broadcasting and Terry Mackin from Hearst-Argyle.

The last session before Mark Richer's closing comments is "What's New on the Home Front" moderated by Glenn Reitmeier (NBC). Participants include Paul Kempter from Nielsen Media Research, Jason Krikorian from Sling Media, Tom Campbell with Ken Cranes, and Pat Griffis (Microsoft - Digital Living Network Alliance).

The agenda is still being finalized and numerous break sponsorships remain available. See the agenda for more information.