SBE announces election results

The Society of Broadcast Engineers has elected its new officers and board members. The newly elected officers and directors will be inducted into office during the SBE Annual Membership Meeting, held as a part of the National Meeting Oct. 27 in Marlborough, MA.


President - Raymond C. Benedict, CPBE, Director of Spectrum Management for Viacom in Washignton, D.C.
Vice President – Chriss Scherer, CPBE, CBNT, Editor of RADIO magazine in Overland Park, KS
Secretary – Ralph Hogan, CPBE, CBNT, is with Washington State University
Treasurer - Robert J. Russell, CSTE, CBNT, of Yuma, AZ

Board members:

James Bernier, Jr., CPBE, CBNT of Turner Entertainment Networks in Atlanta, GA
Keith Kintner, CPBE, CBNT of the University of Wisconsin at Oshkosh
Vincent Lopez, CEV, CBNT of WSYT-TV/WNYS-TV in Syracuse, NY
Thomas Ray, III, CSRE, Buckley Broadcasting/WOR Radio in New York
Barry Thomas, CPBE, CBNT, of Westwood One in New York
Larry Wilkins, CPBE, CBNT of Cumulus Broadcasting in Montgomery, AL

Second-year board members:

Andrea Cummis, CBE, CTO of Oxygen Media in New York
Dane Ericksen, P.E., CSRTE of Hammett & Edison Consulting Engineers in San Francisco
Clay Freinwald, CPBE of Entercom in Seattle, WA
David Hultsman, CSRE of Continental Electronics in Birmingham, AL
Mark Olkowski, CPBE of Infinity Broadcasting in New York
Henry Ruhwiedel, CPBE of WYIN-TV in Gary, IN/Chicago, IL
Troy Pennignton, CSRE, CBNT of Cumulus Broadcasting in Nashville, TN

For more information, visit