Skip to main content

Digital Stations Span To 700

The NAB announced that eight more television stations have begun transmitting a digital
signal. Of the eight new DTV stations, WOGX and KUAS are the first in their
markets on air with DTV. The stations are:

WTXX, Waterbury, Conn. (WB)
KCAU, Sioux City, Iowa (ABC)
KFSM, Ft. Smith, Ark. (CBS)
KSBN, Ft. Smith, Ark. (Independent)
WBDC, Washington (WB)
WFTY, New York (Univision)
WOGX, Gainesville, Fla. (Fox)
KUAS, Tucson, Ariz. (PBS)

According to the NAB, these additions bring the digital broadcast total to 700. DTV signals are now being transmitted in 178 markets that include 96 percent of U.S. TV households. In addition, 69 percent of the more than 106 million U.S. TV households are in markets with five or more broadcasters airing DTV and 35 percent are in markets with eight or more broadcasters sending digital signals.