Deadline Looms for Station Update Reports

October 1 is the deadline for non-exempt broadcast stations to file their ownership reports with the Federal Communications Commission. According to a public notice issued by the FCC Sept. 18, commercial or noncommercial educational stations in Alaska, Florida, Hawaii, Iowa, Missouri, Oregon, Washington, Puerto Rico, Guam, Saipan, Samoa and the Virgin Islands must file a Form 323 or 323-E by Wednesday.

All other stations must file ownership reports every two months for the remainder of the year. Forms should be submitted online via the FCC Media Bureaus Consolidated Database System (CDBS) at Paper forms will not be accepted unless accompanied by an appropriate request for a waiver of the electronic filing requirement.