GPO Releases New Edition of FCC Rules

Every broadcaster should have a copy of the FCC rules relevant to their operations. For most broadcast stations, this will include Part 11 (Emergency Alert System), Part 17 (Construction, marking and lighting of antenna structures), Part 73 (Regulations for radio and TV), and likely Part 74 (Broadcast auxiliary, low-power TV and translators). Part 1 contains rules relating to RF exposure.

One economical way to get a printed copy of the FCC Rules is through the Government Printing Office (GPO). The FCC announced that the October 2012 edition of Title 47 of the Code of Federal Regulations is now available from the GPO. Multiple parts are contained in each book. To get the copy of the rules I mentioned above, you'll need the Parts 0-19 book and the Parts 70-79 book. Each of these is $67. The books can be ordered on-line at or by calling 202-512-1800.

While the printed copies are handy, if you need to see what the current rules are visit and select Title 47--Telecommunications from the drop-down menu. When I last checked, the rules were current as of April 11, 2013.

Doug Lung

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. As vice president of Broadcast Technology for NBCUniversal Local, H. Douglas Lung leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks, and FCC technical filings. Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering. Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack. A longtime columnist for TV Technology, Doug is also a regular contributor to IEEE Broadcast Technology. He is the recipient of the 2023 NAB Television Engineering Award. He also received a Tech Leadership Award from TV Tech publisher Future plc in 2021 and is a member of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society and the Society of Broadcast Engineers.