More Stations Make Digital Switch

The National Association of Broadcasters announced that another 24 television stations have converted to digital, resulting in 297 local broadcasters airing DTV. Nine of the stations are the first in their markets to transition to DTV.

The 24 stations are:

* WHKY, Charlotte, N.C. (independent)
* WBTW, Florence, S.C. (CBS)
* WFLX, West Palm Beach, Fla. (Fox)
* KXII, Sherman, Texas (CBS)
* WHNT, Huntsville, Ala. (CBS)
* WBRZ-TV, Baton Rouge, La. (ABC)
* WJXT, Jacksonville, Fla. (CBS)
* KMOL, San Antonio, Texas (NBC)
* KSAT, San Antonio, Texas (ABC)
* WJXX, Jacksonville, Fla. (ABC)
* WCIA, Champaign, Ill. (CBS)
* WCFN, Champaign, Ill. (CBS)
* WTVQ, Lexington, Ky. (ABC)
* WDEF, Chattanooga, Tenn. (CBS)
* WJPR, Roanoke, Va. (Fox)
* KSLA, Shreveport, La. (CBS)
* KUWB, Salt Lake City, Utah (WB)
* WAXN, Charlotte, N.C. (CBS)
* WFMY, Greensboro, N.C. (CBS)
* WXTX, Columbus, Ga. (Fox)
* WXLV, Winston-Salem, N.C. (ABC)
* KIMA, Yakima, Wash. (CBS)
* KEPR, Richland, Wash. (CBS)
* KLEW, Lewiston, Ind. (CBS)

According to NAB, DTV signals are now being transmitted in 104 markets, which include 82 percent of U.S. TV households. The deadline for all commercial broadcasters to go digital is May 1, but most have filed for extensions with the FCC.