Experimental License Grants Include White Space Tests

There are a number of licenses of potential interest to broadcasters in the FCC list of experimental applications granted from 6/1/2010 to 8/1/2010.

Spectrum Bridge received license WF2XCG to use 174-216 MHz (TV Channels 7-13) to "conduct research by using vacant spectrum in the television broadcast band for the testing of fixed Whitespace devices in Claudville, Va. James Edwin Whedbee was granted authority to use 186-192 MHz (TV Channel 9) for transmission of visual and aural signals for "recordation and Internet transmission for family viewing" at pick-up points in both Kansas City and Gladstone, Mo.

Another interesting license grant not using broadcast frequencies was WF2XJO to Lockheed Martin Corporation to operate on frequencies in the 2.4 GHz band to transmit NTSC analog video signals from a small unmanned aerial vehicle at New Jersey's Lakehurst NAE, and also Red Lion, Pennsauken, and Cherry Hill, N.J.

There are four pages of experimental license grants in the latest list. Consult it for more information.

Doug Lung

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. As vice president of Broadcast Technology for NBCUniversal Local, H. Douglas Lung leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks, and FCC technical filings. Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering. Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack.
A longtime columnist for TV Technology, Doug is also a regular contributor to IEEE Broadcast Technology. He is the recipient of the 2023 NAB Television Engineering Award. He also received a Tech Leadership Award from TV Tech publisher Future plc in 2021 and is a member of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society and the Society of Broadcast Engineers.