Tech Emmys 2001

November 4, 2001
new york, ny-Winners of this year's Technological/Engineering Emmy Awards were announced on Tuesday, October 16, during a black-tie dinner ceremony at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. The event was hosted by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Twenty-five Emmys were awarded for outstanding achievement in engineering development in the following categories:

Pioneering development of a digital HDTV upconverter:
* Faroudja Labs Division of Sage
* Leitch

Pioneering development of a PVR and accompanying personal television service:
* ReplayTV
* TiVo

Implementation of a multi-standard precision digital test transmitter for use in receiver chip-set development and set-top box evaluation and characterization:
* Rohde & Schwarz

Development of consumer camcorders:
* Eastman Kodak
* Hitachi
* Matsushita Electric
* Sony

Development of 24p video:
* Eastman Kodak
* Laser Pacific
* Sony

Development of flat screen CRT technology for consumer television:
* Sony Corporation of America
* Zenith

Pioneering developments in shared video-data storage systems technology for use in television video servers:
* Leitch
* THOMSON Multimedia
* Pinnacle Systems
* Sea Change International

Pioneering effort in digital asset management for television news production:
* Quantel

Receive regular news and technology updates.
Sign up for our free newsletter here.