System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object. at DotNetNuke.Framework.DefaultPage.OnLoad(EventArgs e) in e:\websites\\public_html\Default.aspx.cs:line 834 RTDNA Announces Winners of the 2014 National Edward R. Murrow Awards | TvTechnology

RTDNA Announces Winners of the 2014 National Edward R. Murrow Awards

ABC News takes top honor for network TV June 11, 2014
NEW YORK— The Radio Television Digital News Association has announced the winners of the 2014 National Edward R. Murrow Awards, which recognize outstanding work produced by radio, television and online news organizations.

This year, RTDNA awarded 98 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 13 categories. RTDNA received more than 4,000 entries during the 2014 awards season, setting an all-time record for entries.

For the first time in six years, ABC News won the Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence in the network television division. ABC News won two more awards for Continuing Coverage ("Okla. Tornado Outbreak") and Hard News ("Raid in the Phillipines").

In the same television division, CBS News earned five Murrow Awards in 2014 — for Newscast (CBS Evening News), News Series ("60 Minutes: Guantanamo"), Feature Reporting (CBS Evening News), Investigative Reporting ("60 Minutes: Lethal Medicine") and Writing (CBS Evening News).

NBC News took the awards for Use of Video ("Into the Death Zone") and Breaking News ("Boston Marathon Bombing") in the network television division.

Univision Network News took the award for best network television website, while ESPN won for News Documentary ("Carry On") and Sports Reporting ("The Lady Jags: Losing to Win").

To receive an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must exemplify the highest standards in quality electronic or digital journalism. This year’s winners are:

  • ABC News (network television)
  • ABC News Radio (network radio)
  • The Washington Post (large online news)
  • The Texas Tribune (small online news)
  • WCVB-TV, Boston (television, large market)
  • WBIR-TV, Knoxville, Tenn. (television, small market)
  • WBEZ, Chicago (radio, large market)
  • WDEL, Wilmington, Del. (radio, small market)
  • National awards will be presented October 6 at the New York Marriott Marquis.

    Receive regular news and technology updates.
    Sign up for our free newsletter here.