02.23.2006 12:00 AM
2006 NAB Engineering Achievement Awards Announced
The NAB has announced S. Merrill Weiss, Benjamin Dawson and Ronald Rackley are the recipients of this year's Radio and Television Engineering Achievement Awards. The awards will be presented in April at the NAB conference in Las Vegas.

S. Merrill Weiss will receive the TV award. Readers will recognize Merrill for his work on distributed transmission methods for ATSC, but may not be familiar with his other achievements that span his nearly 40 years in broadcasting and related fields. The NAB said in a release that Merrill Weiss conducted experiments which lead to the first digital TV standard (CCIR recommendation 601) in 1981 and has been involved in the development of virtually every DTV standard since. He has worked with the FCC Advisory Committee on Advanced Television Service, the ATSC and SMPTE.

The radio award will be presented to Benjamin Dawson and Ronald Rackley. The NAB said Dawson and Rackley are "icons in the field of AM broadcast antenna system design and development."

See the NAB press release for more information on the award recipients.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Thursday 11:07 AM
The Best Deconstruction of a 4K Shoot You'll Ever Read
With higher resolutions and larger HD screens, wide shots using very wide lenses can be a problem because they allow viewers to see that infinity doesn’t quite resolve into perfect sharpness.

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology