01.14.2011 09:45 AM
John Godfrey Named ATSC Board Chairman

The Advanced Television Systems Committee board of directors has announced the election of John Godfrey as its new chairman. Godfrey succeeds Wayne Luplow, the board’s 2010 chairman.

“John's strategic thinking and proven leadership capabilities, coupled with his extensive industry knowledge, will be great assets to the ATSC board,” said Mark Richer, ATSC President.

Godfrey is vice president of government and public affairs at Samsung Information Systems, as U.S. subsidiary of Samsung Electronics Co.

He has been a member of the ATSC board of directors for several years and is active in the Consumer Electronics Association matters, having served as past chair of the CEA’s video division, executive board, and government affairs council. He currently serves on the CEA board of industry leaders. Godfrey holds degrees from the University of Texas, Stanford University and George Washington University.

Other 2011 ATSC board members include Lynn Claudy, Brian Markwalter, Peter Symes, Andy Scott, Jay Adrick, Victor Tawil, Craig Todd, Jim Kutzner, Brett Jenkins, John Taylor, Mary Eyer, Anthony Caruso, and Yiyan Wu.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Tuesday 03:07 PM
WMUR-TV Says FAA Drone Rules Preclude ENG
The FAA’s current rules and proposed ban on flight over people, requirement of visual line of sight and restriction on nighttime flying, effectively prohibit broadcasters from using UAS for newsgathering. ~ WMUR-TV General Manager Jeff Bartlett

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology