09.10.2007 01:02 PM
Originally featured on BroadcastEngineering.com
Uruguay adopts DVB-T and DVB-H standards

Uruguay has adopted the DVB-T and DVB-H standards for its fixed and mobile Digital Terrestrial Television (DTT) broadcasting.

The decision was announced in a presidential decree signed by President Tabaré Vázquez and the minister of industry, Jorge Lepra.

The decision by the government to adopt the DVB standards was made after a yearlong evaluation of DVB and the alternatives used in the United States and Japan. Uruguay’s decision was strongly supported by the European Commission.

DVB standards for digital television broadcasting include DVB-T, DVB-C, DVB-S, DVB-S2 and DVB-H. DVB-T has been deployed in more than 30 countries and adopted by more than 100 countries. More than 170 million devices around the world are receiving services that use DVB standards.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Thursday 11:07 AM
The Best Deconstruction of a 4K Shoot You'll Ever Read
With higher resolutions and larger HD screens, wide shots using very wide lenses can be a problem because they allow viewers to see that infinity doesn’t quite resolve into perfect sharpness.

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology