11.05.2006 08:00 AM
Originally featured on BroadcastEngineering.com
Twelve industry leaders inducted into the Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame

Membership in the Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame rose to 109 with the induction of 12 industry veterans. The seventh annual ceremony took place at the CE Hall of Fame awards dinner at the CEA’s Industry Forum in San Francisco.

The CE Hall of Fame includes inventors, executives, engineers, retailers and journalists, who are chosen by a panel of industry judges each year. Industry professionals and media submit nominations.

The 2006 CEA Hall of Fame inductees are:

  • Jack Doyle, founding president of Pioneer America
  • Robert Galvin, chairman of Motorola.
  • George Heilmeier, leader of the team that created the first commercial LCD
  • Nick Holonyak, Jr., inventor of the LED
  • Howard Ladd, leader of Concord Electronics, Sanyo and Fisher
  • Alfred J. Richard, electronics and appliance retailer
  • John Roach, built Tandy and Radio Shack
  • Donald Bitzer, Robert Willson and H. Gene Slottow, together invented the plasma display for television
  • Andrew Grove and Gordon Moore, who, along with past CE Hall of Fame inductee Robert Noyce, founded Intel

For more information, visit www.CE.org.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Thursday 11:07 AM
The Best Deconstruction of a 4K Shoot You'll Ever Read
With higher resolutions and larger HD screens, wide shots using very wide lenses can be a problem because they allow viewers to see that infinity doesn’t quite resolve into perfect sharpness.

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology