Michael Grotticelli /
12.03.2010 08:00 AM
South African states adopt DVB standard for terrestrial TV transmission

The South African Development Community (SADC) announced that the region, which has a population of over 250 million, will adopt DVB-T2 — DVB’s second-generation digital terrestrial television standard.

The decision to adopt DVB-T2 with MPEG-4 compression was taken after rigorous testing and in-depth analysis of ISDB-T, DVB-T and DVB-T2.

The 15 Member States committee adopting the standard represented by the SADC are Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

It was also announced that the Member States would switch to digital television by Dec. 31, 2013. This is well ahead of the 2015 global switchover date in order to ensure that all related challenges would be overcome in time.

The UK saw the launch of the first DVB-T2 services earlier this year. Since then, Italy has launched DVB-T2 pay TV services followed by Sweden. In early 2011, Finland will start its DVB-T2 HD services. Advanced trials are currently taking place in Austria, Denmark, the Czech Republic and Germany.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Tuesday 03:07 PM
WMUR-TV Says FAA Drone Rules Preclude ENG
The FAA’s current rules and proposed ban on flight over people, requirement of visual line of sight and restriction on nighttime flying, effectively prohibit broadcasters from using UAS for newsgathering. ~ WMUR-TV General Manager Jeff Bartlett

Sue Sillitoe, White Noise PR /   Tuesday 05:21 AM
Professional VoD/OTT Just Got Affordable With Visual Unity
Clyne Media, Inc /   Tuesday 07:54 AM
Auralex® Now Shipping New Deep6™ Low-Frequency Absorber
Manor Marketing /   Tuesday 09:27 AM
aQ Broadcast announces new video server configurations

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology