05.08.2003 12:00 AM
On-Air DTV Stations Court 900 Mark
According to the NAB, 19 more commercial TV stations are broadcasting a digital signal, which brings the total number of stations to 885. The stations are:

KPAX, Missoula, Mont., CBS
WPTV, West Palm Beach, Fla., NBC
KMTV, Omaha, Neb., CBS
WKBT, La Crosse, Wis., CBS
WTWB, Greensboro, N.C., WB
WUPV, Richmond, Va., UPN
KTEN, Sherman, Texas, NBC
WILX, Lansing, Mich., NBC
WBXX, Knoxville, Tenn., WB
KBJR, Duluth, Minn., NBC
KRCR, Redding, Calif., ABC
WUPW, Toledo, Ohio, Fox
WYBE, Philadelphia, singly owned independent
WPCB, Pittsburgh, Cornerstone-owned independent
KQDS, Duluth, Minn., FOX
WVII, Bangor, Maine, ABC
WHNO, New Orleans, LeSea-owned independent
WOTF, Orlando, Fla., Telefutura
KVRR, Fargo, N.D. FOX

DTV signals are now being transmitted in 189 markets that include almost 98 percent of U.S. TV households, says NAB. In addition, slightly over 78 percent of the more than 106 million U.S. TV households are in markets with five or more broadcasters airing DTV and 46 percent are in markets with eight or more broadcasters sending digital signals.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Thursday 11:07 AM
The Best Deconstruction of a 4K Shoot You'll Ever Read
With higher resolutions and larger HD screens, wide shots using very wide lenses can be a problem because they allow viewers to see that infinity doesn’t quite resolve into perfect sharpness.

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology