02.27.2003 12:00 AM
21 More Stations Join the Digital Transition
The NAB has announced that 21 more TV stations are broadcasting in digital. This brings the total number of stations to 768. The stations are:

WPMT, Harrisburg, Penn., (Fox)
WFXL, Athens, Ga., (Fox)
KUSI, San Diego, (WB)
KNWS, Houston, (Johnson Broadcasting-owned independent)
KXXV Waco, Texas, (ABC)
KTVN, Reno, Nev., (CBS)
KRNV, Reno, Nev, (NBC)
WXPX, Tampa, Fla., (Paxson O&O)
WTWC, Tallahassee, Fla., (NBC)
WBDT, Dayton, Ohio, (WB)
KFDX, Wichita Falls, Texas, (NBC)
KAUZ, Wichita Falls, Texas, (CBS)
KCCO, Alexandria, Minn., (CBS)
KCCW, Walker, Minn., (CBS)
KLDT, Lake Dallas, Texas (Johnson Broadcasting-owned independent)
KREN, Reno, Nev., (WB)
KBTV, Beaumont, Texas, (NBC)
WFYI, Indianapolis, (PBS)
WSEC, Jacksonville, Ill., (PBS)
KENW, Portales, N.M., (PBS)
WOUB, Athens, Ohio, (PBS)

According to NAB, DTV signals are now being transmitted in 184 markets that include 97 percent of U.S. TV households. In addition, nearly 72 percent of the more than 106 million U.S. TV households are in markets with five or more broadcasters airing DTV and 36 percent are in markets with eight or more broadcasters sending digital signals.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Tuesday 03:07 PM
WMUR-TV Says FAA Drone Rules Preclude ENG
The FAA’s current rules and proposed ban on flight over people, requirement of visual line of sight and restriction on nighttime flying, effectively prohibit broadcasters from using UAS for newsgathering. ~ WMUR-TV General Manager Jeff Bartlett

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology