12.23.2005 12:00 AM
<br/>Copps and Tate Confirmed to FCC
Before clearing out of town Thursday, the Senate managed to confirm Deborah Tate and Michael Copps as FCC commissioners.

Copps, a Democrat, has been a commissioner since January 2001 and will serve a second five-year term that expires June 30, 2010. Tate, former director of the Tennessee Regulatory Authority, will fill a seat left vacant when Kevin Martin became chairman after Michael Powell left last March. Her term expires June 30, 2007.

The confirmations put the FCC at two Democrats--Copps and Jonathan Adelstein--and two Republicans--Tate and Martin. One more vacancy remains in the wake of Kathleen Abernathy's exit on Dec. 9.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Friday 01:36 PM
Making a Scene in London
Holly Ashford of TVB Europe

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology