10.18.2004 10:37 AM
Immink and Gaggioni among 2004 SMPTE award winners

SMPTE has announced the 2004 award winners for outstanding achievement in the motion imaging industry. The Annual Honors and Awards ceremony and reception is Thursday, October 21, in the Fountain Ballroom at the Westin Hotel, in Pasadena, CA from 7 p.m. - 9 p.m.

Among the winners:

  • For the Progress Medal, which recognizes outstanding technical contributions to the progress of engineering phases of the motion picture, television, or motion imaging industries, the winner is Kees Schouhamer Immink, president and founder of Turing Machines.
  • The James A. Leitch Gold Medal Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the application of digital technology to the motion imaging arts and sciences. The winner is Hugo Gaggioni, vice president and CTO of the Broadcast and Production Systems Division of Sony Electronics. Gaggioni holds six patents and has 32 technical publications in the areas of video compression, digital filter banks, and HDTV devices and systems.
  • The Eastman Kodak Gold Medal Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the application of digital technology to the motion imaging arts and sciences. It also recognizes developments in software, equipment, systems, or the standardization of technology involved in the acquisition, processing, or distribution of sound and images related to motion imaging. This award goes to Dr. Roderick T. Ryan, a 40-year veteran of Eastman Kodak. Ryan retired in 1986 having served for many years as a Regional Director of Engineering Services in Hollywood.
  • The John Grierson Gold Medal Award for technical achievements related to the production of documentary motion picture film goes to Ed and Steve Sabol for their work with sports photography and NFL Films.
  • The Fuji Gold Medal Award recognizes outstanding engineering achievements in the design and development of new or enhanced techniques and/or equipment that have contributed significantly to the advancement of photographic or electronic image origination. The award goes to Nelson Tyler, founder, owner, and CEO of Tyler Camera Systems.

For more information, visit www.smpte.org.

Back to the top

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Tuesday 03:07 PM
WMUR-TV Says FAA Drone Rules Preclude ENG
The FAA’s current rules and proposed ban on flight over people, requirement of visual line of sight and restriction on nighttime flying, effectively prohibit broadcasters from using UAS for newsgathering. ~ WMUR-TV General Manager Jeff Bartlett

Sue Sillitoe, White Noise PR /   Friday 11:15 AM
DPA Microphones Expands Its d:facto™ Vocal Microphone Range
Wall Street Communications /   Friday 04:20 PM
SMPTE 2015 NAB Show Preview

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology