Originally featured on BroadcastEngineering.com
Copps is acting FCC chairman

After two recent Republican resignations, the FCC has only three of its normal five members. Last week, President Obama named the senior Democratic commissioner, Michael Copps, as acting chairman.

Copps, who led opposition to media consolidation by the Republican-controlled FCC, has served as a commissioner since 2001. Prior to the FCC, he had been a college professor and chief of staff for former South Carolina Senator Ernest F. Hollings. Copps has been a longtime critic of Republican handling of the DTV transition and supports a delay of the analog turnoff.

Kevin Martin, FCC chairman during the Bush administration, resigned on Inauguration Day, leaving the commission with two Democrats and a single Republican.

Julius Genachowski, President Obama’s chief technology adviser during the campaign, is expected to be named the new FCC chairman. However, the appointment has yet to be announced. Once it is, the Senate must confirm Genachowski.

The makeup of the FCC is three members from the political party holding the White House and two from the other party.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Wednesday 9:02AM
Analysts: TV Regs 'Not as Dire as We Thought'
We feel the negatives are known and are a lot more comfortable recommending the space.

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology