02.18.2003 12:00 PM
Commission grants six-month extensions to eight would-be DTV broadcasters

Eight major network owned-and-operated stations and affiliates have been granted another six month extension for transitioning to DTV operation, due to zoning and technical problems.

The delays, the FCC ruled, were “unforeseeable and beyond their control.” The stations are: Denver, Colo.'s KMGH-TV; KCNC-TV and KUSA-TV; WBBM-TV, Chicago, Ill.; WVIT-TV, New Britain, Conn.; WTVJ-TV, Miami, Fla.; and WTIC-TV and WFSB-TV, both in Hartford, Conn.

All of the stations were originally required to be on-the-air with a digital signal by November 1999. All have been granted previous extensions.

For more information, visit www.fcc.gov.

Back to the top

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Tuesday 03:07 PM
WMUR-TV Says FAA Drone Rules Preclude ENG
The FAA’s current rules and proposed ban on flight over people, requirement of visual line of sight and restriction on nighttime flying, effectively prohibit broadcasters from using UAS for newsgathering. ~ WMUR-TV General Manager Jeff Bartlett

D. Pagan Communications /   Friday 10:35 AM
Blue Line is Hot on the Trail of DPA Microphones
Clyne Media, Inc /   Thursday 09:51 PM
Focusrite Expands RedNet Range

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology