Originally featured on BroadcastEngineering.com
Broadcasters seek duopoly relief in small markets

A newly formed group of small broadcasters is lobbying members of the FCC for duopoly relief in the nation’s smallest TV markets.

The group, headed by Raycom Media’s Paul McTear, wants the FCC and Congress to offer them the same opportunity to operate duopolies as those enjoyed by their major market counterparts.

Smaller-market broadcasters, the group argued, are taking a financial hit from the DTV transition, the elimination of network compensation and falling advertising revenues.

The Smaller Market Broadcasters Coalition comprises several TV station groups with 111 stations in markets ranging from Providence, RI (DMA 51), to Ottumwa, IA-Kirksville, MO (DMA 199).

In addition to McTear, representing the coalition in the lobbying effort are Barrington Broadcasting’s Jim Yager, Quincy Newspapers’ Ralph Oakley, Freedom Broadcasting’s Doreen Wade and Darrell Blue with Morgan Murphy Stations.

A federal appeals court voided the FCC’s ownership rules, forcing the current initiative to re-write the rules. In January, McTear plans to meet with key leaders of the new Democrat-controlled Congress to discuss the issue.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Thursday 2:01PM
IBC APP Now Available
I downloaded the app and found it useful for my main IBC pitfall

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology