08.10.2007 12:00 AM
ATSC Calls on FCC to Adopt Updated 6-Part Standard
The Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) has called on the FCC to update its DTV standard to reflect ATSC’s partition of the standard into six sections. ATSC says the six-way divide will facilitate future changes and enhancements to the standard.

The six parts of the ATSC A/53 standard govern the overall DTV broadcast system; RF and transmission system characteristics; service multiplex and transport subsystem characteristics; MPEG-2 video; the AC-3 audio system; and enhanced AC-3 audio.

Partitioning the standard allows revision of one part without impacting the rest, ATSC says, and additional parts may be added later as future enhancements arise.

ATSC also told the FCC that it is working to add new functionality to the DTV standard. ATSC-M/H, for example, will enable broadcast delivery of television and data to mobile and handheld devices over the DTV signal, even while broadcasters simultaneously broadcast HDTV. ATSC is also working on ATSC 2.0, a suite of next-generation features for DTV.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Thursday 11:07 AM
The Best Deconstruction of a 4K Shoot You'll Ever Read
With higher resolutions and larger HD screens, wide shots using very wide lenses can be a problem because they allow viewers to see that infinity doesn’t quite resolve into perfect sharpness.

Featured Articles
Exhibitions & Events
Discover TV Technology