2006 NAB Engineering Achievement Awards Announced

February 23, 2006
The NAB has announced S. Merrill Weiss, Benjamin Dawson and Ronald Rackley are the recipients of this year's Radio and Television Engineering Achievement Awards. The awards will be presented in April at the NAB conference in Las Vegas.

S. Merrill Weiss will receive the TV award. Readers will recognize Merrill for his work on distributed transmission methods for ATSC, but may not be familiar with his other achievements that span his nearly 40 years in broadcasting and related fields. The NAB said in a release that Merrill Weiss conducted experiments which lead to the first digital TV standard (CCIR recommendation 601) in 1981 and has been involved in the development of virtually every DTV standard since. He has worked with the FCC Advisory Committee on Advanced Television Service, the ATSC and SMPTE.

The radio award will be presented to Benjamin Dawson and Ronald Rackley. The NAB said Dawson and Rackley are "icons in the field of AM broadcast antenna system design and development."

See the NAB press release for more information on the award recipients.

Receive regular news and technology updates.
Sign up for our free newsletter here.