10.21.2008 11:31 AM
SMPTE to honor gold medal recipients at annual conference

The Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers will honor 15 entertainment technology innovators from leading corporations and universities at a gala ceremony during the SMPTE 2008: Annual Tech Conference & Expo Oct. 28-30 at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel.

Five gold medal awards will be bestowed including the Progress Medal, which will be given to Birney Dayton, chairman and chief technical officer of audio/visual technology company NVISION. Dayton designed numerous industry-changing, digital audio and SD/HD products and technologies.

In addition, 10 industry leaders will also be named SMPTE fellows. The 2008 Honors & Awards Ceremony and Reception will take place on Oct. 30 on the closing night of the conference and trade show.

In addition to the Progress Medal, this year’s gold medalist include

  • David Master, who will receive the Eastman Kodak Gold Medal honoring outstanding contributions leading to new or unique educational programs using motion pictures, television or photography. Master is the founder of ACME Animation, a non-profit educational organization.
  • Michael Ryan, who will receive the Technicolor/Hebert T. Kalmus Gold Medal, recognizing outstanding contributions to the development of color films, processing, techniques or equipment for making color motion pictures. Ryan will be recognized for his contributions to the development of color negative film products and his pioneering work in electron sensitization technology.
  • Dr. Albert Theuwissen, who will receive the Fuji Gold Medal, which is awarded for the design and development of techniques and equipment advancing photographic or electronic image origination. Theuwissen, a professor at Delft University of Technology and founder of Harvest Imaging, will be recognized for his contributions to solid-state image sensing.
  • Shawn Jones, who will receive the Samuel L. Warner Memorial Medal, which recognizes design and development of methods and/or equipment for sound-on-film motion pictures. Jones, chief engineer and chief technology officer of NT Audio, will be recognized for his work in optical negative recording and multiformat digital mastering.

For more information, visit www.smpte.org.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Tuesday 06:00 AM
Eleven FCC Scenarios for The 600 MHz Band Plan
I suspect that the estimated $44 billion of auction proceeds do not take into account the fact that some spectrum the FCC will buy cannot be resold because it must be used as guard intervals in the 600 MHz band plan.~ Charles W. Rhodes

Wall Street Communications /   Friday 07:53 PM
Archimedia Technology at the 2015 NAB Show

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology