04.04.2006 02:04 PM
Originally featured on BroadcastEngineering.com
CEA honors 2005 Digital Television Pioneers

The Consumer Electronics Association last month honored the winners of the Academy of Digital Television Pioneers (DTV Academy) Awards in five categories during its Entertainment Technology Policy Summit luncheon in Washington, D.C.

The winners included:

  • Best DTV Program Provider: DIRECTV
  • Best DTV Leadership (Industry): Peter Fannon, Panasonic Corp. of North America
  • Best DTV Leadership (Government): Senator Ted Stevens (R-AK), Senator Daniel Inouye (D-HI), Congressman Joe Barton (R-TX) and Congressman Fred Upton (R-MI)
  • The People's Choice Award for Favorite HDTV Programming: NFL Monday Night Football (ABC)
  • The President's Award for Outstanding Contribution: Rick Chessen, former chair, FCC Digital Television Task Force and Bureau Chief of the Media Bureau.
The annual DTV Awards are voted on by members of the DTV Academy, which includes more than 200 leaders from manufacturing, broadcasting, government, the engineering community and media who have paved the way for DTV.

For more information, visit www.ce.org.

Back to the top

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Thursday 11:07 AM
The Best Deconstruction of a 4K Shoot You'll Ever Read
With higher resolutions and larger HD screens, wide shots using very wide lenses can be a problem because they allow viewers to see that infinity doesn’t quite resolve into perfect sharpness.

Featured Articles
Exhibitions & Events
Discover TV Technology