04.10.2009 03:10 PM
Edward R. Murrow Awards Announced

WASHINGTON: The Radio-Television News Directors Association unveiled the winners of its regional Edward R. Murrow Awards this week. The news professionals association handed out 540 nods in 14 categories. Among them, KARE-TV, the NBC in Minneapolis-St. Paul owned by Gannett, garnered 10, the most of any large-market TV station. (KARE’s winning pieces are listed in a press release from the station.) KUSA-TV, Gannett’s NBC in Denver, was next with eight.

WTOP-FM, a talk radio station, in Washington, D.C., took the most awards, scoring 11. The RTNDA said many of the awards were given for coverage of the 2008 presidential election and the recession. A comprehensive list is available on the RTNDA’s Web site.

There were 18 Hearst-Argyle Stations among the winners, the New York TV station group said. Two stations--KCCI-TV in Des Moines and WMUR-TV, Manchester, N.H.--received recognition for Overall Excellence in part for election coverage. Hearst-Argyle stations also received a Peabody for election coverage, as well as the group’s fifth consecutive USC Walter Cronkite Award.

Regional Murrow winners automatically qualify for the national awards competition held in early June. The national winners will be recognized at an event in New York Oct. 12. – Deborah D. McAdams 

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Thursday 10:05 AM
NAB Requests Expedited Review of Spectrum Auction Lawsuit
“Broadcasters assigned to new channels following the auction could be forced to accept reductions in their coverage area and population served, with no practical remedy.” ~NAB

202 Communications /   Friday 12:41 PM
Albis Technologies Appoints New Head of Access Solutions
ignite strategic communications /   Thursday 03:48 PM
2015 HPA Tech Retreat(r) Unveils Expanded Session Schedule

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology