09.07.2010 10:50 AM
IABM Announces 2010 Awards Shortlist
The IABM (International Association of Broadcasting Manufacturers) has announced the shortlist of finalists for the IABM Awards for Excellence in Design and Innovation. The five finalists will be judged during the IBC2010 exhibition, with the winner receiving the prestigious IABM Peter Wayne Award in recognition of this year's outstanding contribution to broadcasting technology.

The remaining four finalists will each receive the IABM Award for Excellence in Design and Innovation which recognizes products that, in the view of the judging panel, offer significant solutions or new opportunities to the Industry.

To decide the awards, an international panel of distinguished judges visits the finalists on the show floor to see the products in action. Judging criteria include innovation, excellent performance, outstanding appearance, and contribution towards quality, ease of use, new capability created, or value for money. The results will be announced at the IABM Awards Ceremony at IBC2010 on Saturday, Sept. 11, at 6 p.m.

The five finalists for 2010 are:

Dolby — PRM-4200: A professional reference monitor that allows cinema color grading without a digital cinema projector.

Gekko — kleer colour: An LED-based multichip array technology allowing LED technology to be employed for lighting film sets and studios.

Integrated Microwave Technologies — RF Central microLite HD: An MPEG-4-based full HD digital COFDM ultra miniature digital transmitter.

Mode-AL — Speed Rack: A quick-build alternative to 19-inch racking needing no additional tools or hardware.

Sony — MPE-200: A 3D stereo image processor giving accurate analysis, control, and manipulation of 3D scenes in real time.

"These awards represent an industry consensus on new outstanding products and technologies that offer a significant contribution to the broadcast and media industry," said Peter White, IABM director general. "Our judging panel is truly global, and comprises expertise from across the spectrum of broadcast activity. To be listed for an IABM Award is to be honored as a leader by a panel of industry peers, and we congratulate all five of this year's finalists."

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Tuesday 03:07 PM
WMUR-TV Says FAA Drone Rules Preclude ENG
The FAA’s current rules and proposed ban on flight over people, requirement of visual line of sight and restriction on nighttime flying, effectively prohibit broadcasters from using UAS for newsgathering. ~ WMUR-TV General Manager Jeff Bartlett

D. Pagan Communications /   Friday 10:35 AM
Blue Line is Hot on the Trail of DPA Microphones
Clyne Media, Inc /   Thursday 09:51 PM
Focusrite Expands RedNet Range

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology