System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object. at DotNetNuke.Framework.DefaultPage.OnLoad(EventArgs e) in e:\websites\\public_html\Default.aspx.cs:line 791 2003 Technology & Engineering Emmy winners announced | TvTechnology

2003 Technology & Engineering Emmy winners announced

October 27, 2003

At its annual black-tie gathering in New York City on October 23, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) awarded its coveted 2003 Technology & Engineering Awards in the fields of digital encoding, surround sound audio, digital RF modulation, projection technology, closed captioning systems and digital image acquisition.

And the winners are:

Related Articles

ChyronHego Announces Shout Metrics for Social Media Polling

BroadStream Announces New Hires

Broadcast Pix Announces Router Control Software Option

-Turner Networks; for its pioneering Efforts in the development of automated, server-based close captioning systems.

- Thales Broadcast & Multimedia; for its pioneering development of digital modulator adaptive pre-correction for ATSC 8VSB transmission systems.

- Thomson Broadcast & Media Solutions; for its development and application of sub-pixel imaging devices for TV cameras.

- Dolby Laboratories, Jim Fosgate and Peter Scheiber; for their work in the development of Surround Sound for television and feature films.

- Texas Instruments; for its pioneering development of mass-produced digital reflective imaging technology for Consumer Rear Projection Television (its DLP Products).

- Dr. Kees Immink; for more than 30 years of work in Coding Technology for Optical Recording Formats.

- Pinnacle Systems and Thomson Broadcast & Media Solutions; for supporting the development of technology to simultaneously encode multiple video qualities and the corresponding metadata to enable real-time conformance and/or playout of the higher quality video-based on the decisions made using the lower quality proxies.

The Academy also added two new “Advanced Media” categories to its awards for the first time. The two inaugural Advanced Media winners include:

- Turner Sports Interactive and Sportvision; for the creation of its Pitcommand interactive application. This Emmy recognizes Outstanding Achievement in Advanced Media Technology for the Enhancement of Original Television Content.

- Cablevision; for its iO Interactive Optimum Digital Cable Service. The award honors Outstanding Achievement in Advanced Media Technology for the Creation of Non-Traditional Programs or Platforms.

For more information on the winners visit

Back to the top

Receive regular news and technology updates.
Sign up for our free newsletter here.