07.12.2004 09:52 AM
SBE announces 2003 national award winners

The Society of Broadcast Engineers has announced the winners of its 2003 SBE National Awards. Winners will be recognized during the SBE National Awards Dinner, held during the SBE National Meeting in Marlborough, Mass, October 26-27. This year’s National Meeting is being held in conjunction with Bos-Con, the SBE Chapter 11 Regional Convention.

SBE Broadcast Engineer of the Year Award
James T. Bernier, Jr., CPBE, CBNT of Alpharetta, Georgia. Bernier is Director, Maintenance, Design and Engineering for Turner Entertainment Networks

SBE Educator of the Year Award
Donald C. Borchert of Sun Prairie, WI

SBE Technology Award for 2003
Dielectric Communications of Raymond, Maine for its Dualband Series Antenna

Best Technical Article, Book or Program by an SBE Member
Thomas R. Ray III, CPBE, for his article "Running Interference," which appeared in the April 2003 issue of Radio magazine.

Local chapters also earned awards based on their own achievements. Some categories recognize two chapters, based on their size. Class A represents those chapters whose membership is less than the median while Class B are those chapters that have membership greater than the median.

Best Regional Convention or Conference
Chapter 24, Madison, WI - Chapter Chairman: Victoria Way Kipp, CSTE, CBNT; Conference Coordinator: Donald C. Borchert

Best Chapter Newsletter (Class A)
Chapter 118, Montgomery, AL - Chapter Chairman and Newsletter Editor: Larry J. Wilkins, CPBE, CBNT

Best Chapter Newsletter (Class B)
Chapter 24, Madison, WI - Chapter Chairman: Victoria Way Kipp, CSTE, CBNT Newsletter Editor: Michael J. Norton, CSTE, CBNT

Best Chapter Frequency Coordination Effort (Class B)
Chapter 54, Tidewater, VA - Chapter Chairman: Charles E. Stutsman, CBTE Frequency Coordinator: Ted Hand, CPBE

Best Chapter Website
Chapter 53, South Florida - Chapter Chairman: John L. Theimer Webmaster: Douglas L. Barkley, CBTE, CBNT

Most Certified Chapter
Class A: Chapter 118, Montgomery, AL - Chapter Chairman: Larry J. Wilkins, CPBE, CBNT Certification Chairman: Charles L. Grider, CBRE, CBNT Class B: Chapter 131, Inland Empire, CA - Chapter and Certification Chairman: Paul E. Claxton, CPBE, CBNT

Highest Member Attendance at Chapter Meetings
Class A: Chapter 136, Rio Grande Valley, TX - Chapter Chairman: Frank Daniels, CBT 2003 Chairmen: Jaime Rodriguez, CBT, then Frank Daniels Class B: Chapter 113, Knoxville, TN. - Chapter Chairman: Gary L. Davis, CBT

Greatest Growth in New Members
Class A: Chapter 104, Toledo, Ohio - Chapter Chairman: Barry L. Gries, CPBE Class B: Chapter 59, Kansas City, KS, Kansas City, MO - Chapter Chairman: Michael L. Douthat 2003 Chairman: Kirk Chestnut, CSRE

For more information visit www.sbe.org.

Post New Comment
If you are already a member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are
made, please login or register.

Enter the code shown above:

(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above
image, reload the page to generate a new one.)

No Comments Found

Tuesday 03:07 PM
WMUR-TV Says FAA Drone Rules Preclude ENG
The FAA’s current rules and proposed ban on flight over people, requirement of visual line of sight and restriction on nighttime flying, effectively prohibit broadcasters from using UAS for newsgathering. ~ WMUR-TV General Manager Jeff Bartlett

Sue Sillitoe, White Noise PR /   Monday 05:38 AM
DPA Microphones Takes On A Downpour at the 2015 BRIT Awards
Manor Marketing /   Monday 06:52 AM
Cinegy to clarify the Cloud at NAB seminars

Featured Articles
Discover TV Technology